top of page
  • Writer's pictureGavin Zimmerman

City Surfer - Artist Statement



I've always enjoyed animated movies where it looks like the animators had fun with it- because it always shows. And I especially have a deep respect for animators who exploit the characteristics of animation and take exaggeration to new levels. But, before this class I don't think I would have ever taken animation on- besides the character animations I do for game making.


So I'm really glad to have found myself with this project, because I had a blast! I love stylistic dynamics and have been finding new ways to make outstanding visuals and movement as a programmer. By iterating over the 12 principles of animation in the context of animation, I was able to solidify a deeper understanding of exaggeration and aesthetic dynamics. Beyond that I was able to learn an entire interface and use for the program Blender.








City Surfer is both a project expressing my admiration to skilled animators in similar craft, and my way of taking this new skill head on. I'll have to start using this in my workflow- this might bring entirely new opportunities for custom user interfaces and concept design.





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page